top of page
Mozart

W.A Mozart:
The piano trios based on the autograph

Vienna Mozart Trio


The newly released CD of all works for the piano trio by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart is based on decades of performance experience of the Vienna Mozart Trio and the composer's original handwriting. For the first time, all errors in the popular editions have been corrected. The recordings took place in the "Wavegarden" studio in Lower Austria between February and April 2018, and the finished album was released as a double CD in autumn 2021 by Gramola.

cover1.jpg

Alternative versions

In the manuscript, Mozart sometimes noted alternative ways of playing a passage. None of these "Ossia" versions ever made it into an interpretation by established ensembles. On the left you can see a) and b) at the end of the E major piano trio KV 542. Of course, the Vienna Mozart Trio implemented all of these new versions in the interpretation.

Dactylus here, Appogiatura there - and how was that again with the suggestions?

Even the so-called "Urtext" editions did not respect Mozart's own entries. They expanded dynamics, changed arcs of articulation - and ignored Mozart's differentiated spelling of the sixteenth notes. Although Mozart used the South German spelling in the grace notes (and sometimes double strikethrough), we only ever find sixteenth-note suggestions printed

The square piano has horizontal strings that are arranged diagonally above the hammers in the rectangular housing. The keyboard is now on the long run  Side, the soundboard over a recess along the short side. It is variously ascribed to Silbermann and Frederici and was improved by von Petzold and Babcock. The overwhelming popularity of his instruments was due to their simple construction and the associated low price.

Since  For about ten years I have been regularly on stage with my parents Irina and Diethard Auner in Europe's most important centers of chamber music. The Vienna Mozart Trio was founded in 1991 and, nomen est omen, played Mozart's piano trios continuously in hundreds of concerts around the world.

One of my last recording projects, the CD "Dialogue with Mozart" (in the shop  buy )   three sonatas for piano and violin, which were performed together with the British pianist Robin Green on  Salzburg Mozarteum were already dedicated to the chamber music of Mozart. Even then, we spent countless hours at the library of the Mozarteum University in Salzburg to check the manuscripts - and to compare them with the "Urtext" editions by Bärenreiter and the "New Mozart Edition" that are common today. The differences between autograph, first edition and NMA were very clear, we very often asked ourselves why our game tradition today deviates so far from the text that is actually available.

One of the first noticeable things about Autograph is the different arrangement of the instruments in the notation system. The violin at the top, the piano in the middle - and the cello only below the piano part. I wonder why? The pianos and harpsichords in Mozart's time were very small, Mozart himself had his instrument transported very often. As a result, the trio also played in a different seating arrangement, the cello on the left - and the violin on the right, probably standing in front of the piano. Due to the small size of the instrument, the piano lacked a strong bass sound - the cello was therefore mostly used to reinforce the left piano hand.

We played some concert in the Museum of Musical Instruments in Brussels. Before the collection moved into the new exhibition rooms (and the valuable instruments disappeared in glass cases) we were invited to play on them.

The fortepiano was something very special and expensive. It has leather-covered hammers and thin, harpsichord-like strings. It has a much lighter case construction than the modern piano (apart from later examples from the early 19th century). The mechanics and hammers are lighter, which results in a much easier attack that is also very responsive on well-designed fortepiano. Mozart writes his trios (depending on who gave the order and which instrument this person had) for "pianoforte" or "harpsichord".

In view of this instrumentation, many questions that arise when looking at the manuscripts answer themselves automatically. For example, why Mozart sometimes did not write dynamics. A harpsichord did not have many dynamic possibilities. The difference between legato and separately played notes was also almost inaudible. I remember when I recorded the violin sonatas that Mozart, as a violinist, wrote very precise lines that should not be changed, if not necessarily not. Often the second time he repeated a measure with different strokes than the first time. The unusual upstroke on the first note of a second measure needed less emphasis than the same note on the first measure. Musical period; 1st measure strong, 2nd measure easy, 3rd measure strong (but less than 1st) and 4th measure the lightest of all.

If we look at the instruments of the time, we shouldn't consider the trios with a fortepiano, A = 421.6 Hz  record with string instruments on gut strings etc.?

Well we could. But we would not be satisfied with the result. In our opinion, a good pianist can play much better legatas and phrasing as well as dynamic differences on a well-adjusted modern grand piano than the best fortepiano player - the instrument becomes a handicap. Imagine bringing Mozart into our time and letting him play a new Bösendorfer, Fazioli or Steinway grand piano. What would his reaction be? I think he would be very happy that we have instruments on hand today that can soundly trigger even more emotions than he would have ever dreamed of. The development of the piano from the harpsichord to today's concert grand was based on the needs of the composers and their works. In the Ehrbar-Palais in Vienna there is a copper engraving on the wall, a quote from Franz Liszt; He says how happy he is to have finally found an instrument that can withstand a full concert. In terms of interpretation, however, we have to keep an eye on the original instrumentation, especially when it comes to phrasing etc.

​​

First print is sometimes available just digitally on the website of the nma, Neue Mozart Ausgabe

The famous library of the Mozarteum in Salzburg. All handwritings and first prints can be found here

At Mozarts time the stringed instruments used a hammerhead bow. I had the privilege to play several performances on Mozarts own bow.

bottom of page

W.A. Mozart:
Die Klaviertrios nach dem Autograph

Wiener Mozart Trio


Die neu erschiene CD aller Werke für das Klaviertrio von Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart basiert auf Jahrzehnten der Aufführungserfahrungen des Wiener Mozart Trio und den originalen Handschriften des Komponisten. Zum ersten Mal wurden alle Fehler in den gängigen Ausgaben korrigiert. Die Aufnahmen fanden im "Wavegarden" Studio in Niederösterreich zwischen Februar und April 2018 statt, erschienen ist das fertige Album als Doppel-CD im Herbst 2021 bei Gramola.

cover1.jpg

Alternative Fassungen

In der Handschrift notierte Mozart teilweise alternative Spielweisen für eine Passage. Keine dieser "Ossia"-Versionen schaffte es je in eine Interpretation etablierter Ensembles. Auf der linken Seite sehen Sie a) und b) am Ende des E- Dur Klavier - Trio KV 542. Natürlich hat das Wiener Mozart Trio diese neuen Versionen alle in der Interpretation implementiert.

Dactylus hier, Appogiatura dort - und wie war das nochmals mit den Vorschlägen?

Auch nicht die sogenannten "Urtext"-Ausgaben respektierten Mozarts eigene Eintragungen. Sie erweiterten Dynamiken, änderten Artikulationsbögen - und ignorierten Mozarts differenzierte Schreibweise der Sechzehntel. Obwohl Mozart die Süd-Deutsche Schreibweise in den Vorschlagsnoten verwendete (und machmal doppelt durchstrich) finden wir immer nur Sechzehntelvorschläge gedruckt

Das Tafelklavier hat horizontale Saiten, die über den Hämmern diagonal im rechteckigen Gehäuse angeordnet sind. Die Klaviatur ist damit auf der langen  Seite, der Resonanzboden über einer Vertiefung entlang der kurzen Seite. Es wird verschiedentlich Silbermann und Frederici zugeschrieben und wurde von von Petzold und Babcock verbessert. Die überwältigende Popularität seiner Instrumente war auf die einfache Konstruktion und dem damit einhergehenden günstigen Preis zurückzuführen.

Seit  etwa zehn Jahren stehe ich gemeinsam mit meinen Eltern Irina und Diethard Auner regelmäßig in Europas wichtigsten Zentren der Kammermusik auf der Bühne. Das Wiener Mozart-Trio wurde 1991 gegründet, und, nomen est omen, spielte Mozarts Klaviertrios durchgehend in hunderten Konzerten auf der ganzen Welt.

Eines meiner letzten Aufnahmeprojekte, die CD "Dialog mit Mozart" (im Shop kaufen)  drei Sonaten für Klavier und Violine, welche gemeinsam mit dem britischen Pianisten Robin Green am  Salzburger Mozarteum aufgenommen wurden, widmeten sich bereits der Kammermusik Mozarts. Bereits damals verbrachten wir unzählige Stunden an der Bibliothek der Universität Mozarteum Salzburg, um die Handschriften zu kontrollieren - und mit den heute üblichen "Urtext"-Ausgaben von Bärenreiter und der "Neuen Mozart Ausgabe" zu vergleichen. Die Unterschiede zwischen Autograph, Erstdruck und NMA waren doch sehr deutlich, wir stellten uns sehr oft die Frage wieso unsere heute Spieltradition so weit von dem tatsächlich verfügbaren Text abweicht.

Einer der ersten Auffälligkeiten bei Autograph ist die abweichende Anordnung der Instrumente im Notensystem. Die Violine ganz oben, das Klavier in der Mitte - und das Cello erst unter dem Klavierpart. Warum wohl? Die Klaviere und Cembali zu Mozarts Zeiten waren sehr klein, Mozart selbst lies sein Instrument sehr oft transportieren. Dadurch spielte das Trio auch in einer anderen Sitzordnung, das Cello links - und die Violine rechts, wahrscheinlich stehend vorm Klavier. Aufgrund der kleinen Größe des Instruments fehlte es dem Klavier an einem starken Bassklang - das Cello wurde daher meist zur Verstärkung der linken Klavierhand eingesetzt.

Wir spielten einige Konzert im Museum für Musikinstrumente in Brüssel. Bevor die Sammlung in die neuen Ausstellungsräume (und die wertvollen Instrumente in Glaskästen verschwanden) waren wir eingeladen darauf zu spielen.

Das Hammerklavier war schon etwas ganz besonderes und teuer. Es hat lederbezogene Hämmer und dünne, cembaloartige Saiten. Es hat eine viel leichtere Gehäusekonstruktion als das moderne Klavier (abgesehen von späteren Beispielen aus dem frühen 19. Jhdt). Die Mechanik und Hämmer sind leichter, was zu einem viel leichteren Anschlag führt, der bei gut konstruierten Hammerflügeln auch sehr reaktionsschnell ist. Mozart schreibt seine Trios (je nachdem, wer den Auftrag gegeben hat und welches Instrument diese Person hatte) für "Pianoforte" oder "Cembalo".

Angesichts dieser Instrumentierung beantworten sich viele Fragen, die sich beim Betrachten der Handschriften stellen, bereits von selbst. z.B. warum Mozart manchmal keine Dynamiken schrieb. Ein Cembalo hatte nicht viele Möglichkeiten der Dynamik. Auch der Unterschied zwischen legato und getrennt gespielten Noten war fast nicht hörbar. Ich erinnere mich an meine Aufnahme der Violinsonaten, dass Mozart als Geiger sehr genaue Striche schrieb, die nicht, wenn nicht sogar unbedingt nicht, geändert werden sollten. Oftmals wiederholte er beim zweiten Mal einen Takt mit anderen Strichen als beim ersten Mal. Der ungewöhnliche Aufstrich auf der ersten Note eines zweiten Takts musste weniger betont werden als dieselbe Note im ersten Takt. Musikalische Periode; 1. Takt stark, 2. Takt leicht, 3. Takt stark (aber weniger als 1.) und 4. Takt der leichteste von allen.

Wenn wir die Instrumente der damaligen Zeit betrachten, sollten wir die Trios nicht mit einem Hammerklavier, A= 421,6 Hz  mit Streichinstrumenten auf Darmsaiten usw. aufnehmen?

Nun, wir könnten. Mit dem Ergebnis würden wir aber nicht zufrieden sein. Unserer Meinung nach kann ein guter Pianist viel bessere Legati und Phrasierungen sowie dynamische Unterschiede auf einem gut eingestellten modernen Flügel spielen als der beste Hammerklavierspieler - das Instrument wird zum Handicap. Stellen Sie sich vor, Sie bringen Mozart in unsere Zeit und lassen ihn einen neuen Bösendorfer, Fazioli oder Steinway - Flügel spielen. Wie würde seine Reaktion sein? Ich glaube, er würde sich sehr freuen, dass wir heute Instrumente zur Hand haben, die klanglich noch mehr Gefühle auslösen können, als er sich je erträumt hätte. Die Entwicklung des Klaviers vom Cembalo zum heutigen Konzertflügel basierte auf den Bedürfnissen der Komponisten und ihrer Werke. Im Ehrbar-Palais in Wien hängt ein Kupferstich an der Wand, ein Zitat von Franz Liszt; Er sagt, wie glücklich er ist, endlich ein Instrument gefunden zu haben, das ein volles Konzert aushalten kann. Interpretationstechnisch müssen wir die Originalinstrumentierung jedoch im Auge behalten, insbesondere wenn es um Phrasierung etc. geht.

First print is sometimes available just digitally on the website of the nma, Neue Mozart Ausgabe

The famous library of the Mozarteum in Salzburg. All handwritings and first prints can be found here

At Mozarts time the stringed instruments used a hammerhead bow. I had the privilege to play several performances on Mozarts own bow.