top of page
Mozart

J.Seb.Bach:
Sonatas and Partitas for Violin Solo

in training and in artistic collaboration with the Viennese musicologist and expert on affect theory; Dr. Dagmar Glüxam


Every violinist learns and studies the six sonatas for violin solo during his studies; this music usually accompanies us for the rest of our lives. But the interpretation of Bach's music is becoming more and more difficult today, as we fortunately become more and more aware of the differentiated reception of the music at that time.

Cover1.jpg

To be published by ARS in January 2022

NOE_Culture_4c_A4_2.jpg
unnamed.jpg
What is the effect of affect?

Today we are so used to hearing some works by Bach played in a meditative character that it has become a "tradition", for example the Adagio by BWV 1001, the first piece of this cycle, to be interpreted very calmly and calmly. Let us direct our eyes, however, to these fast tones, these modulations and strong dissonances on difficult cycle times ...
Be Solo - Be Alone could also mean that with these works he came to terms with the loss of his beloved wife Barbara Bach. Imagine hearing this Adagio played by an organ, Bach's favorite instrument. Powerful sound and full of dissonances. The affects that Bach use here create a nervous, painful, sighing, excited sound.

"You have to play from the soul"

A digital learning platform for affect teaching

The Viennese musicologist Univ.-Doz. Mag. Dr. Dagmar Glüxam and the Viennese violinist Daniel Auner, MA, present this digital learning platform as part of the upcoming CD release of all sonatas and partitas for violin. It is intended to explain to musicians and interested parties using practical examples what the conveyance of affects and their effect on interpretation is all about.

The detailed introductory video is available here free of charge, detailed lessons will follow.

It rarely happens that musicians get involved in a collaboration with musicologists. However, as my many years of close cooperation with the Austrian music historian Dagmar show, it can be an extremely exciting and profitable collaboration. The music historian dealt extensively with the hitherto neglected topic of baroque affect theory, while my task in this project was to convert her theoretical knowledge into sound art, so to speak.

Well, what is this actually about? "You have to play from the soul, and not like a trained bird," wrote the German composer Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach in his piano school (1753), whereby he - by no means coincidentally - hit the nerve of musical thought of his time, a time when which was not primarily characterized by technical virtuosity, but by the expression of human emotions ("affects"). The "affect" determined not only the entire composition, but also the performance: similar to how the composer should musically imitate various affects in each (!) piece of music, the task of the interpreter was to recognize them and to apply them exactly as the composer intended to pass on to the listener and to touch them emotionally. Or, as Michael Praetorius (1619) put it, the music should “move the heart of the listener / and move the affectus.”

The knowledge of the baroque theory of affect, the correct interpretation of the many elements of musical rhetoric, makes Bach's Sei Solo no longer appear merely as challenging violin literature, but rather as a fascinating image of the human soul, in which it actually refers to the expression of each note arrives. Saltus, Gradus, Exclamatio, Suspiro and the many other mysteries of the theory of affect to date were used in this recording for the first time ever. The entire Sei Solo, the result of almost four years of intensive study of the work, was recorded on a CD as a research project of the University Mozarteum Salzburg and published by Ars Production in 2022. I recorded it on a violin by Giovanni Battista Guadagnini from the collection of valuable stringed instruments of the Austrian National Bank - strung with special baroque strings from the Viennese string company Thomastik-Infeld.

bottom of page

J.Seb.Bach:
Sonaten und Partiten für Violin Solo

in Ausbildung und in künstlerischer Zusammenarbeit mit der Wiener Musikwissenschaftlerin und Expertin für die Affekttheorie; Dr. Dagmar Glüxam


Jeder Geiger lernt und studiert während seines Studiums die sechs Sonaten für Violine solo, normalerweise begleitet uns diese Musik für den Rest unseres Lebens. Doch die Interpretation von Bachs Musik wird heute immer schwieriger, da uns die differenzierte Rezeption der Musik in der damaligen Zeit glücklicherweise immer mehr bewusst wird.

Cover 1.jpg

Erschien im Januar 2022 bei ARS

NOE_Kultur_4c_A4_2.jpg
unnamed.jpg
Welchen Effekt hat der Affekt?

Wir sind heute so daran gewöhnt, manche Werke Bach in einem meditativen Charakter gespielt zu hören, dass es zu einer "Tradition" wurde, z.B. das Adagio von BWV 1001, das erste Stück dieses Zyklus, sehr ruhig und gehalten zu interpretieren. Richten wir unsere Augen allerdings auf diese schnellen Töne, diese Modulationen und starken Dissonanzen auf schwere Taktzeiten....
Sei Solo - Sei Alleine, könnte auch bedeuten, dass er mit diesen Werken den Verlust seiner geliebten Frau Barbara Bach verarbeitete. Stellen Sie sich vor, dieses Adagio von einer Orgel gespielt zu hören, Bachs Lieblingsinstrument. Klangewaltig und voller Dissonanzen. Die Affekte, welche Bach hier verwenden zeichnen ein nervöses, schmerzvolles, seufzendes, aufgeregtes Klangbild.

"Aus der Seele muss man spielen"

Eine digitale Lernplattform zur Affektlehre

Die Wiener Musikwissenschaftlerin Univ.-Doz. Mag. Dr. Dagmar Glüxam und der Wiener Geiger Daniel Auner, M.A. präsentieren im Rahmen der kommenden CD-Veröffentlichung aller Sonaten und Partiten für Violine diese digitale Lernplattform. Sie soll Musikern und Interessenten anhand praktischer Beispiele erklären, was es mit der Vermittlung von Affekten und deren Wirkung auf die Interpretation auf sich hat.

Das ausführliche Einführungsvideo steht hier kostenlos zur Verfügung, ausführliche Lektionen folgen.

Es passiert eher selten, dass Musiker sich auf eine Zusammenarbeit mit Musikwissenschaftlern einlassen. Wie jedoch meine mehrjährige enge Kooperation mit der österreichischen Musikhistorikerin Dagmar zeigt, kann es sich dabei um eine überaus spannende und gewinnbringende Zusammenarbeit handeln. So beschäftigte sich die Musikhistorikerin eingehend mit dem bisher eher vernachlässigten Thema der barocken Affekttheorie, während meine Aufgabe bei diesem Projekt war, ihr theoretisches Wissen sozusagen in klingende Kunst umzuwandeln.

Nun, worum geht es hier eigentlich? „Aus der Seele muß man spielen, und nicht wie ein abgerichteter Vogel“, schrieb der deutsche Komponist Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach in seiner Klavierschule (1753), wobei er damit – keineswegs zufällig – exakt den Nerv des Musikdenkens seiner Zeit traf, einer Zeit, die noch nicht vordergründig durch spieltechnische Virtuosität, sondern durch den Ausdruck menschlicher Emotionen („Affekte“) geprägt war. Der „Affekt“ bestimmte dabei nicht nur die gesamte Komposition, sondern auch den Vortrag: Ähnlich wie der Komponist in jedem(!) Musikstück diverse Affekte musikalisch nachahmen sollte, lag die Aufgabe des Interpreten darin, diese zu erkennen und genau im Sinne des Komponisten an den Zuhörer weiterzugeben und emotionell zu berühren. Oder, mit Michael Praetorius (1619) gesprochen, durch die Musik solle „das Hertz der Zuhörer gerühret / und die affectus beweget werden.“

Das Wissen um die barocke Affekttheorie, die korrekte Interpretation der vielen Elemente musikalischer Rhetorik, lässt auch die Bach‘schen Sei Solo nicht mehr bloß als herausfordernde Violin-Literatur, sondern vielmehr als ein faszinierendes Abbild der menschlichen Seele erscheinen, in dem es tatsächlich auf den Ausdruck einer jeden Note ankommt. Saltus, Gradus, Exclamatio, Suspiro und die viele weiteren bis dato Geheimnisse der Affektlehre wurden in dieser Einspielung zum ersten Mal überhaupt angewandt. Die gesamten Sei Solo, das Ergebnis fast vierjähriger intensiver Auseinandersetzung mit dem Werk, wurden als Forschungsprojekt der Universität Mozarteum Salzburg auf eine CD aufgenommen und 2022 bei der Ars Produktion veröffentlicht. Eingespielt habe ich sie auf einer Violine von Giovanni Battista Guadagnini aus der Sammlung wertvoller Streichinstrumente der Österreichischen Nationalbank – bespannt mit besonderen Barock-Saiten der Wiener Saitenfirma Thomastik-Infeld.